Susanne Koelbl to Participate in Book Talk Moderated by NPR’s Deborah Amos

Susanne Koelbl, author of the upcoming Behind the Kingdom's Veil, will be participating in a book talk on Thursday, September 10th hosted by The Middle East Institute.
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Susanne Koelbl to Participate in Book Talk Moderated by NPR’s Deborah Amos

September 10, 2020 @ 10:00 am 11:00 am EDT

Susanne Koelbl, author of the upcoming Behind the Kingdom’s Veil, will be participating in a book talk on Thursday, September 10th hosted by The Middle East Institute.

This talk, titled “Book Talk: The Future of Saudi Arabia and Its Crown Prince”, will feature journalist and author Ben Hubbard and will be moderated by NPR international corespondent Deborah Amos. This conversation will be centered around progress and reform in Saudi Arabia and the past and future obstacles that surround those topics.

The event will take place over Zoom and you must register to participate.


Behind the Kingdom’s Veil

Inside the New Saudi Arabia Under Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (Memoirs, Terrorism, For Fans of Blood and Oil, Black Wave, The Monk of Mokha)

Saudi Arabia plays a key world role yet few have first-hand knowledge of who lives, suffers, and wields power there. Now, Susanne Koelbl, award-winning military and foreign correspondent for the German news magazine Der Spiegel, unveils many secrets of this mysterious kingdom. As a journalist, for years Koelbl has traveled throughout the Middle East, and specifically Saudi Arabia, and recently lived in Riyadh during the most dramatic changes since the country’s founding. She has long cultivated relationships on every level of Saudi society and is equally at ease with ultra-conservative Wahhabi preachers, oppositionists, and women from all walks of life.