What A Checklist Can Do For You

Check out this new post from Alexandra Franzen, the author of “The Checklist Book.”

In these especially challenging times, it’s so important to breathe, stay calm, and focus on the things you can control–rather than obsessing about the things you cannot.

If you’re feeling overwhelmed, try making a checklist.

Checklists are like an extra storage tank for your weary, over-stuffed brain.

Research confirms that making a checklist can help you feel calmer and more focused, and can shift your body on a physiological level.

When you check off a completed item, this creates that oh-so-satisfying burst of dopamine, a neurotransmitter that helps you feel more positive, think clearly, and solve problems creatively.

Personally, I know that making a checklist helps me feel more steady, strong, and grounded during turbulent times. Checklists are good medicine.

Here are a few checklist ideas and downloadable templates for you. (All of these templates are free. Enjoy.)

Take good of yourself. One tiny step (and one tiny checkmark) at a time.


the checklist book

Set Realistic Goals, Celebrate Tiny Wins, Reduce Stress and Overwhelm, and Feel Calmer Every Day (For Fans of The Checklist Manifesto, Atomic Habits, or Checklist for Life)

Simplicity at its best: The checklist is one of the world’s oldest—and most effective—productivity systems. If anything, author and entrepreneur Alexandra Franzen shares, it is just as valuable now as it was during the days of the Roman Empire. Writing out a simple checklist allows us to tangibly plan our day and set in stone what we want to accomplish.

Cut out unnecessary noise: There are countless apps and organizational systems out there to help us straighten out our lives, but often they only add to the madness. Trying to keep up leaves us feeling drained and overwhelmed. Learn how to choose your highest priorities, set realistic goals, celebrate tiny wins, and feel calmer every day with the magic of checklists.