Winners and Finalists of Next Generation’s Indie Book Awards

Please join us in congratulating the Mango authors who became finalists or won a Next Generation Indie Book Award.


Across the deep

With the perfect mix of tragedy and humor, love and loss, pain and redemption, this riveting novel explores the lives of two spectacularly brave and resilient trafficked women living in a San Francisco safe house.

A contemporary survivor story. Raised in Thailand and brought to the United States against her will, quiet and intelligent Suda is hiding from a sex trafficking ring and the man she believed was on her side. Claire, admired as bright and beautiful in high school, now hides her striking looks and wears her sharp wit as a protective shield. Determined to show Suda and Claire a path that allows for a life of their own, Simone, the safe house operator, offers them a haven and a healing path to the future.


Behind the Kingdom’s Veil

Inside the New Saudi Arabia Under Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (Memoirs, Terrorism, For Fans of Blood and Oil, Black Wave, The Monk of Mokha)

Saudi Arabia plays a key world role yet few have first-hand knowledge of who lives, suffers, and wields power there. Now, Susanne Koelbl, award-winning military and foreign correspondent for the German news magazine Der Spiegel, unveils many secrets of this mysterious kingdom. As a journalist, for years Koelbl has traveled throughout the Middle East, and specifically Saudi Arabia, and recently lived in Riyadh during the most dramatic changes since the country’s founding. She has long cultivated relationships on every level of Saudi society and is equally at ease with ultra-conservative Wahhabi preachers, oppositionists, and women from all walks of life.


Lettering From A to Z

12 Styles & Awesome Projects for a Creative Life

Lettering artist Phawnda Moore has been teaching calligraphy and design for 25 years. An award-winning author, she steps into beginning students’ shoes to select content, address anticipated questions, and offer solutions to the unexpected yet inevitable problems that are encountered in hand lettering.

Your creative life will be enriched with step-by-step tutorials “from A to Z.” Written in conversational narrative, this full-color book includes more than 200 images of Phawnda’s professional work, published articles, and guidance from her class demos to make beautiful projects.


Words Whispered In Water

Why the Levees Broke in Hurricane Katrina

It’s a horror story, a mystery, and David and Goliath story all in one. In 2005, the entire world watched as a major U.S. city was nearly wiped off the map. The levees ruptured and New Orleans drowned. But while newscasters attributed the New Orleans flood to “natural catastrophes” and other types of disasters, citizen investigator Sandy Rosenthal set out to expose the true culprit and compel the media and government to tell the truth. This is her story.


Story Power by Kate Farrell

Story power

Secrets to Creating, Crafting, and Telling Memorable Stories

Stories are everywhere. The art of storytelling has been around as long as humans have. And in today’s noisy, techy, automated world, storytelling is not only prevalent—it’s vital. Whether you’re interested in enlivening conversation, building your business brand, sharing family wisdom, or performing on stage, Story Power will show you how to make use of a good story.


Giving Grief Meaning

A Method for Transforming Deep Suffering into Healing and Positive Change

Give Grief Meaning. How do you make sense of loss and tragedy? After the sudden and devastating loss of her infant daughter, Lily Dulan, a marriage and family therapist (MFT), psychotherapist, and certified yoga teacher, meditated, prayed, and ruminated on the only thing she had left–her baby girl’s name. In Lily’s courage to address and move through her pain, she developed The Name Work, a cross pollination of proven psychological modalities, 12-step wellness tools, spiritual healing applications, meditation and ancient yoga. In her heartfelt memoir, Lily shares her healing journey and her method for unleashing the power in names and giving them special meaning to help move through the grief process in a thoughtful and transformative way.


Overcoming Hate Through Dialogue

Confronting Prejudice, Racism, and Bigotry with Conversation—and Coffee

Learn how to change the world—and change your life. We’ve all heard the expression “be the change you want to see in the world.” But how do you actually do that?

When Özlem Cekic became the first Muslim MP in the Danish Parliament, her email inbox was inundated with hate mail and threats, and her gut reaction was to delete and ignore each abusive message. But eventually, she decided to take a risk. She started replying to each message and inviting the senders to meet and engage in dialogue over coffee. And with time, understanding, and patience, she began to make a difference, both in the lives of those who hated her before even meeting her, and in her own life.


Dads for Daughters by Michelle Travis

dads for daughters

How Fathers Can Give their Daughters a Better, Brighter, Fairer Future

A world where your daughter can thrive. Today’s generation of feminist dads are raising confident, empowered daughters who believe they can achieve anything. But the world is still profoundly unequal for women and girls, with workplaces built by men for men, massive gender pay gaps, and deeply-ingrained gender stereotypes. Dads for Daughters: How Fathers Can Support Girls and Women for a Successful Feminist Future offers fathers guidance for building a world where their daughters can thrive.

Lean In for dads. The most successful leaders of all companies, from family businesses to lean startups, understand that leaders eat last. Your workplace can be a stage for the fight for equality and true leadership that empowers women. The guidance in this book will help you move from TED talks to daily action.

Gift for Dads, For Readers of Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters